Meet your city's volunteers of the year

Wodonga Council has named its annual volunteer of the year award recipients at a ceremony in Woodland Grove.

Zennon McCarty took out the individual award for Sport and Recreation. Over the past 13 years Zennon has held more than 18 roles as a volunteer becoming a strong advocate for promoting and keeping children in sport.

The individual Community Service Award was given to Peter Whitmarsh, the chairperson for Border Relay for Life. He has been involved in the Relay since 2015 and, although he works year round in the chairperson role, leading up to the event he puts in over twenty hours a week.

Team of the year was awarded to the Albury-Wodonga Foodshare. The not-for-profit company and its team of volunteers rescue 902,000kg of food and accrue 15,200 hours volunteered per year. The volunteers work to provide the 22,300 people who access food relief on a regular basis with nutritious food.

Honourable mentions were given to Megan Vearing for her service to the Wodonga State Emergency Service and to the Repair Café for their free service to the community to help fix household items.

The People’s Choice awards were won by Katrina Redcliffe and Wodonga Bulldogs All-Abilities AFL Football team.

The individual People’s Choice winner Katrina, facilitates and plans for two support groups, the Healthy Mothers Healthy Families and the Aspire Family Network. She works towards meaningful and creative support for those who care for a family member with a disability. The support and information that she provides helps to reduce the isolation of families.

The People’s Choice team winners Wodonga Bulldogs All-Abilities AFL Football team consist of three volunteer coaches. Between them they coordinate training and attend all games during the season, mentor players and provide travel assistance.

The awards are intended to recognise excellence in voluntary service and enhance public awareness and appreciation of the excellent volunteerism in Wodonga. Categories for the awards include; Arts and Culture, Community Service, Sport and Recreation, Environment, Science and Technology and People’s Choice.